My Experience in Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican City

I took three of four of my children on a trip to Paris, Rome, and Florence. The highlight of our trip was on June 14th, 2015, when we experienced a special mass! It took place in a small altar area directly underneath the main altar of Saint Peter’s Basilica. In back of this small altar within the marble wall was Saint Peter’s box of remains. Father Andrew, a Legionary priest, celebrated mass with the assistance of Brother Christopher for a private mass of eleven friends.  Emotional tears appeared in my children’s and my eyes when we heard Father Andrew state that this mass was in my honor for I am struggling with cancer. I felt the Holy Spirit ascend upon me like it was Pentecost! I felt strong and confident in the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit.
What a privilege it was to be so close to Saint Peter. I felt his presence too.

“For it is by grace the you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.” Ephesians 2:8

Saint Peter also struggled when Jesus was arrested and he denied him three times. Jesus forgave him for his failures and then Peter became a new leader of humility and boldness. After the Apostles received the Holy Spirit, on the day of Pentecost, Peter delivered his first Gospel. Peter talked to his brothers and sisters to repent and be baptized in the name of Jesus. He told them their sins will be forgiven and their heart will be filled with the Holy Spirit. Three thousand people were baptized that day which was the beginning of Saint Peter’s Catholic Church and Christianity began. We are forgiven for our mistakes if we are truly sorry for committing them.
Also we were able to be blessed by Pope Francis. Our leader is a wonderful, holy, and humble person who spoke about the importance of our families, working together with others, and giving of ourselves. He blessed our rosaries and asked us to pray for him.
I believe many people were Jesus to me on our journey in Rome. I was thankful to learn that Father Andrew and 25 Legionary priests are praying for me. Brother Christopher gave us a private tour through the Vatican Museum and he shared volumes of knowledge about our faith. He also guided us through many churches and sights throughout the city. I was grateful to have shared these experiences with my children who have always been there for me. Thank you God for this time with my children!

Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying “I am the light of the world. He who follows me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” John 8:12

1 thought on “My Experience in Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican City

  1. I know this was a special trip for you and your family!! A special mass for you is totally awesome! I think of you every day and ask God to help cure you of cancer! You are a inspiration for others! Love always!xo

    Like

Leave a comment